Fedewa Tops Field at Auto City

Fedewa Tops Field at Auto City

FLINT, Mich. (May 3, 2003) – The Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series tried the new paved surface at Auto City Speedway in Flint MI Saturday evening and after rave reviews it was Leslie MI driver Tom Fedewa taking the honors.

The 2002 car owner’s champion started fifth in the 21 car-starting field and was quickly making his way to the front. On lap eleven he passed early leader Jeff Bloom for the lead and eventual victory.

The day started at Auto City with some very excited drivers as they got the chance to practice on the newly paved surface. The drivers all exclaimed that they had never raced on a smoother track before. The practice was quickly followed by Hamilton Trucking qualifying and taking top honors was Parma MI driver Bill Tyler at 13.06. This is just off the current track record of 12.98. The predictions are as some rubber is laid down on the new track the record will be lowered many times the next AVSS appearance at the 7/16-mile oval. The second quick time belonged to Tom Fedewa at 13.06 and rookie of the year contender Brian Lay was third fastest at 13.10.

The 26 car field practiced and qualified in front of an excited Auto City crowd and in heat race action it was Dennis Venia taking the United Trailers heat race, Kevin Newton took the Dowker Engines heat and the Wolverine Steel heat went to Gary Fedewa.

The 12 lap B-Main went to Lay over Kevin Feeney, Mike Ling, Hank Lower and Troy Underwood. The Lane Automotive/Aeroquip provisional was awarded to Dennis Craft.

The 21 car starting field for the 30 lap main event first saluted the great Auto City crowd with the traditional three wide AVSS salute and then it was time for Ryan Katz and Jeff Bloom to lead the field to the green flag. The feature had barely started when a yellow came out for the spinning car of Jay Rohrback. As this was happening a five-car pile up in turn three developed and the cars involved were Mike Ling, Kevin Feeney, Dennis Venia, Curt Shumaker and Tyler. The Ling and Feeney cars were able to continue.

The race was red flagged to make clean up easier and then the 18 remaining cars were restarted and the first 15 laps were some of the most heated racing ever at Auto City. The track was getting wider with the rubber getting laid on to the new track and there were several three wide moves during the first half of the event. The yellow came out on lap 15 when Ryan Katz spun coming out of turn four and ended up against the front stretch wall. The race was quickly restarted and Tom Fedewa was holding on to the lead. On the restart a battle developed for second third and fourth with Bloom, Rick Baker and Johnboy Hotchkiss involved. A short yellow for Mike Ling’s spin on lap 19 was the last delay for Fedewa as he pulled away from Baker for the well-deserved victory.

The Leslie MI driver thanked his hard working crew in victory lane and great car owner Mike Katz. The 2002 car owners champion was very happy to pick up his first feature win of the season in only the second AVSS race of the season when last year it took until August for his first main event checkered. The top ten finishers were Fedewa, Baker, Hotchkiss, Bloom, Newton, Chris Hayes, Lay, Lower, Bill Jacoby and Feeney.

The Suspension Spring Specialist driver of the race was Hank Lower who started 20th and finished eighth. The Sweet Manufacturing driver is Curt Shumaker. The new driver points leader is Tom Fedewa with 157, Newton is second with 154 and Rick Baker third at149.

The AVSS website is www.supersprints.com for more information. The AVSS next head to the fast 3/8-mile oval Owosso Speedway in Ovid MI. This race on Saturday May 10 is anticipating record times and nearly 30 AVSS stars. The action begins at 12 with pit gates opening, hotlaps start at 1, qualifying at 4:30 and racing action at 7.


Qualifying- 1. 24 Bill Tyler 13.06 2. 20 Tom Fedewa 13.06 3. 45 Brian Lay 13.10 4. JB Johnboy Hotchkiss 13.11 5. 35 Ryan Katz 13.12 6. 4B Rick Baker 13.15 7. 26 Jeff Bloom 13.15 8. 99 Kevin Newton 13.18 9. 44J Bill Jacoby 13.19 10. 98 Kevin Feeney 13.24 11. 61 Mike Ling 13.24 12. 11 Chris Hayes 13.29 13. 69 Chris Hettinger 13.31 14. 71 Curt Shumaker 13.33 15. 61F Tom Fedorczyk 13.34 16. 11 Dennis Venia 13.36 17. 33 Jay Rohrback 13.38 18. 42 Gary Fedewa 13.46 19. 70 Dennis Craft 13.51 20. 4 Troy Underwood 13.53 21. 37 Hank Lower 13.68 22. 55 Jason Blonde 13.81 23. 8 Ryan Davis 13.81 24. 97 Ben Hidy 13.82 25. 27 Rick Toncray 14.22 26. 92 George Gustafson N.T.

Heat Results- Heat 1- 1. Venia 2. Hettinger 3. Tyler 4. Bloom 5. Hotchkiss 6. Blonde 7. Toncray 8. Feeney 9. Craft

Heat 2- 1. Newton 2. Shumaker 3. T.Fedewa 4. Rohrback 5. Katz 6. Ling 7. Underwood 8. Davis

Heat 3-1. G.Fedewa 2. Fedorczyk 3. Hayes 4. Baker 5. Jacoby 6. Lay 7. Lower 8. Hidy

B-Main 12laps 5 transfer- 1. Lay 2. Feeney 3. Ling 4. Lower 5. Underwood 6. Blonde 7. Toncray 8. Hidy 9. Davis 10. Craft

30 lap feature- 1. T.Fedewa 2. Baker 3. Hotchkiss 4. Bloom 5. Newton 6. Hayes 7. Lay 8. Lower 9. Jacoby 10. Feeney 11. G.Fedewa 12. Ling 13. Rohrback 14. Underwood 15. Fedorczyk 16. Craft 17. Katz 18. Hettinger 19. Tyler 20. Shumaker 21. Venia

TOP TEN DRIVER POINTS- 1. Tom Fedewa 157 2. Kevin Newton 154 3. Rick Baker 149 4. Jeff Bloom 145 5. Johnboy Hotchkiss 139 6. Gary Fedewa 138 6. Brian Lay 138 8. Mike Ling 137 9. Curt Shumaker 133 10. Kevin Feeney 130