Hot Night at Baer Field Goes to England

Hot Night at Baer Field Goes to England

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (July 27, 2002) – The Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series made the third and final appearance at the Baer Field Speedway in Fort Wayne IN Saturday evening. It was Warsaw IN veteran Denny England taking the checkered flag.

The day started with 32 teams checking into the very crowded Baer Field pits. There were a total of 127 racecars competing on the very hot and humid day. The qualifications were run in 90-degree temperatures and the fastest of all at the fast ½ mile was Dansville MI driver Dennis Craft who ran a 14.951, to capture his first ever-fast time award. He took an extra $100.00 from Hamilton Trucking for this honor. The second quickest was Kevin Feeney at 14.958 and third was Troy Underwood at 15.015.

The three heats were very heated and capturing the three were Rick Baker, John Batts and Jimmy McCune. The 12 lap B-main went to Jeff Bloom over Bill Tyler, England, Ryan Katz and CurtShumaker. The Lane Automotive/Aeroquip/Hamilton Trucking provisional was awarded to Tracy Rice and Chris Hayes was added to the tail of the feature as a sanctioning body decision.

The feature was started in front of one of the largest crowds of the year at Tom Isch’s fine facilitywith the traditional AVSS three wide salute. The crowd roared it’s approval and then it was time to start the 30 lap main event.

The front row consisted of Hank Lower and England and it was England off to a big lead. The Holt MI veteran Gary Fedewa was on the move and passed Lower for second on lap three and was working on closing the gap on England. The first caution did not come out until lap 20 when fast timer Craft crashed hard into the turn four wall after making contact with John Batts. The driver was all right but the car is in need of some serious work to get ready for next Saturday night.

The feature was restarted and a yellow had to be thrown again on lap 20 as three cars spun on the front stretch. The cars of Kevin Feeney, Ryan Katz and Troy Underwood were collected and Feeney retired for the night. The race started again with England and G.Fedewa putting on a clinic working through lapped traffic and it looked liked G.Fedewa might make a late race run on England when on lap 28 Fedewa had a right rear tire go flat and he unfortunately had to pull into the pits.

This allowed England to capture his first AVSS feature of the year.

The very excited driver in victory lane thanked his great crew and sponsors and gave a huge thank you to Mike Katz and Jeff Bloom for helping because England had broken a drive shaft in the heat race and needed to borrow one from another team. The very vocal crowd cheered for England as he considers Baer Field to be one of his favorite tracks

The Suspension Spring Specialist driver of the race was Ryan Katz and the top ten finishers were England, Bill Tyler, Tom Fedewa, Tim Cox from 20th, Mike Ling, Jimmy McCune, Kevin Newton, Dave Durnwald, Katz and Dorman Snyder.

The entire staff of AVSS would like to thank Tom Isch and his fine staff for three great events at the Baer Field Speedway and hope to be back for more of the same great winged action in 2003. The AVSS website is The next weekend the action starts at OwossoSpeedway in Ovid MI on Saturday August 3 and Sunday August 4 the AVSS will be at SpartanSpeedway in Mason MI.

RESULTS 7-27-2002

qualifying-1. 70 Dennis Craft 14.951 2. 98 Kevin Feeney 14.958 3. 4 Troy Underwood 15.015 4. 99 Kevin Newton 15.039 5. 24 Bill Tyler 15.149 6. 20 Tom Fedewa 15.224 7. 42 Gary Fedewa 15.263 8. 26 Jeff Bloom 15.307 9. 84 Denny England 15.324 10. 61 Mike Ling 15.416 11. 19 Dave Durnwald 15.434 12. 4b Rick Baker 15.442 13. 6 John Batts 15.494 14. 14 Jimmy McCune 15.504 15. 35 Ryan Katz 15.510 16. 9 Dorman Snyder 15.581 17. 7g Adam Grim 15.585 18. 71 Curt Shumaker 15.586 19. 98c Tim Cox 15.587 20. 11 Chris Hayes 15.663 21. 55 Jerry Kelly 15.734 22. 33 Jay Rohrback 15.773 23. 17 Johnboy Hotchkiss 15.839 24. 8 Ryan Davis 15.874 25. 45
Brian Lay 15.917 26. 14d David Lawerance 15.953 27. 48 Scott Hull 16.033 28. 69 Tracy Rice 16.242 29. 65 Derrek Williams 16.523 30. 35k Ed Kenens 17.146 31. 37 Hank Lower N.T.

Heat 1-1. Baker 2. G.Fedewa 3. Newton 4. Craft 5. Shumaker 6. Hull 7. Davis 8. Kenens 9. Katz 10. Kelly

Heat 2-1. Batts 2. Snyder 3. Ling 4. Feeney 5. Cox 6. Bloom 7. Tyler 8. Lay 9. Rohrback 10. Rice

Heat 3-1. McCune 2. T.Fedewa 3. Durnwald 4. Underwood 5. Grim 6. Hotchkiss 7. Hayes 8. Williams 9. Lawerance 10. England

B-Main 5 transfer- 1. Bloom 2. Tyler 3. England 4. Katz 5. Shumaker 6. Hayes 7. Hotchkiss 8. Davis 9. Lay 10. Hull 11. Williams 12. Kelly 13. Rohrback 14. Rice 15. Kenens

A-MAIN- 1. England 2. Tyler 3. T.Fedewa 4. Cox 5. Ling 6. McCune 7. Newton 8. Durnwald 9. Katz 10. Snyder 11. Bloom 12. Underwood 13. Hayes 14. Baker 15. Shumaker 16. Grim 17. G.Fedewa 18. Feeney 19. Batts 20. Craft 21. Rice