Rookie McCune Takes Third Season Victory

Rookie McCune Takes Third Season Victory

OWOSSO, Mich. (September 15, 2002) – The Owosso Speedway in Ovid MI was the host of the Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series Saturday night. This was the rained out and rescheduled race from May 11. The driver who is most happy the track was able to reschedule is Toledo OH driver Jimmy McCune. The racer in his first AVSS season captured his third AVSS feature of the year.

The afternoon started with very hot conditions on the track and the hottest driver of the 25 in qualifying was Parma MI driver Bill Tyler. The current AVSS point leader ran a blazing lap of 13.123. This earned Tyler a $100.00 bonus from Hamilton Trucking for quick time. The young driver from Terre Haute IN Kevin Newton was second quick at 13.156 and Doug Stepke was third fastest at 13.235 in his first race back since June 29th.

The skies started to darken as heats were run off in quick fashion and the three racers taking the checkers were Rick Baker, Tom Fedorczyk and Troy Underwood. The weather was threatening and the decision was made by AVSS and Owosso Speedway to cancel the B-Main and start all 24 cars in the 30-lap feature.

The feature was ready to go green, but could not start without the traditional AVSS three-wide salute to the tremendous crowd at the fast 3/8-mile oval. The crowd did an incredible job in cheering on the field that was being lead by Jeff Bloom and Jimmy McCune.

The feature started with Bloom taking the lead and looking like the car to beat. It took until nearly half way through the main event for McCune to gain on Bloom and use some lapped traffic to his advantage and pass Bloom going into turn one. This was the chance the young Ohio driver needed and he was able to stay out in front the remainder of the race. There was only one caution for the feature on lap 26 when Mike Ling’s car stopped on the track in turn three. This was quickly cleaned up and the race was restarted with McCune still the leader and eventual winner.

The young driver of the Benny Rapp owned car was very excited in victory lane taking his third AVSS feature of the season. The leading Owens Petroleum rookie of the year contender is solidly in fourth in the national points and is leaning on returning in 2003 to take a run at the AVSS championship.

The staff of the AVSS would like to thank everyone involved with Owosso Speedway in trying so hard to get the races in Saturday night. The track hosted two AVSS shows this year and both were among the best events this year on the AVSS calendar.

The top ten finishers at Owosso were McCune, Bloom, Tom Fedewa, Stepke, Dennis Craft, Tyler, Hank Lower, Kevin Feeney, Gary Fedewa and Newton. There were some incredible battles in the middle of the feature Saturday and the close race for points continued as Tyler finished sixth and Tim Cox 11th. The entire 24-car field is to be congratulated for an incredible feature run and no equipment was damaged as we ready for Salem. The Suspension Spring Specialist driver of the race was Dorman Snyder.

final event for the 2002 AVSS season is at Salem Speedway in Salem IN on Saturday night September 28. This finale will crown the 2002 AVSS national champion. It was the most talked about AVSS feature of 2001 and is expected to be an incredible race again at the legendary highbanked oval. The action will begin at Salem with pit gates opening at 1, hot laps starting at 3:30, qualifying at 5:30 and racing starts at 7. The official website of the AVSS is for more information.

OWOSSO QUALIFYING 9-14-2002- 1. 24 Bill Tyler 13.123 2. 99 Kevin Newton 13.156 3. 66 Doug Stepke 13.235 4. 20 Tom Fedewa 13.306 5. 70 Dennis Craft 13.317 6. 98 Kevin Feeney 13.327 7. 14 Jimmy McCune 13.331 8. 26 Jeff Bloom 13.345 9. 61 Mike Ling 13.347 10. 37 Hank Lower 13.367 11. 98c Tim Cox 13.405 12. 42 Gary Fedewa 13.416 13. 4b Rick Baker 13.457 14. 8 Ryan Davis 13.466 15. 9 Dorman Snyder 13.470 16. 55 Chris Hettinger 13.512 17. 61f Tom Fedorczyk 13.525 18. 4 Troy Underwood 13.587 19. 11 Chris Hayes 13.678 20. 33 Jay Rohrback 13.727 21. 35 Ryan Katz 13.732 22. 11v Dennis Venia 13.942 23. 92 George Gustafson 13.956 24. 71 Curt Shumaker 14.034 25. 69 Tracy Rice 14.191

HEAT RESULTS Heat 1- 1. Baker 2. McCune 3. Hettinger 4. T.Fedewa 5. Tyler 6. Lower 7. Hayes 8. Rice

Heat 2- 1. Fedorczyk 2. Cox 3. Bloom 4. Craft 5. Davis 6. Newton 7. Rohrback 8. Gustafson

Heat 3- 1. Underwood 2. Ling 3. G.Fedewa 4. Stepke 5. Feeney 6. Snyder 7. Katz 8. Shumaker

B-MAIN cancelled all 24 cars start feature

A-Main 30 laps 1. McCune 2. Bloom 3. T.Fedewa 4. Stepke 5. Craft 6. Tyler 7. Lower 8. Feeney 9. G.Fedewa 10. Newton 11. Cox 12. Baker 13.Snyder 14. Hettinger 15.Underwood 16. Hayes 17. Shumaker 18. Fedorczyk 19. Rohrback 20. Davis 21. Ling 22. Venia 23. Rice 24. Gustafson